Academic Calendar

*See Yale College Programs of Study Calendar for information regarding academic dates & deadlines

Freshman Preorientation Programs 2016

August 20, Saturday Cultural Connections program begins
August 20, Saturday FOOT 6-day program begins
August 21, Sunday Harvest program begins
August 22, Monday FOOT 4-day program begins
August 22, Monday Orientation for International Students begins

Fall 2016

August 24, Wednesday Residences open to upperclassmen, 9 a.m.
August 26, Friday Residences open to freshmen, 9 a.m.
August 26, Friday Freshman Registration
August 30, Tuesday Upperclass registration
August 31, Wednesday Fall-term classes begin, 8.20 a.m.
September 5, Monday Labor Day; classes do not meet
October 7-9, Friday-Sunday Family Weekend
October 18, Tuesday October recess begins, 11 p.m.
October 24, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
October 28, Friday Midterm
November 18, Friday November recess begins, 5:30 p.m.
November 19, Saturday Yale/Harvard Football Game
November 28, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
December 9, Friday Classes end, 5.30 p.m.; Reading Period begins
December 16, Friday Final examinations begin, 9 a.m.
December 21, Wednesday Examinations end, 5.30 p.m.; Winter recess begins

Spring 2017

January 11, Wednesday Undergraduate residences open
January 16, Monday Freshman Registration
January 16, Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day; classes do not meet.
January 17, Tuesday Upperclass Registration
January 17, Tuesday Spring term classes begin, 8.20 a.m.
March 10, Friday Midterm
March 10, Friday Spring recess begins, 5.30 p.m.
March 27, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
April 28, Friday Classes end, 5.30 p.m.; Reading period begins
May 5, Friday Final examinations begin, 9 a.m.
May 10, Wednesday Examinations end, 5.30 p.m.
May 22, Monday University Commencement