Annual Awards


The Dean’s Travel Fellowship for students representing the values of excellence and exploration that the Dean’s Travel Fellowship hopes to inspire.

The Alice Kimball English Traveling Fellowships, the School’s oldest and largest endowed fellowships, established in 1893, are awarded annually for travel and study.

The Harvey Geiger Fellowship Fund is a travel and research grant given annually to two photography M.F.A. students for their summer projects between their first and second year of the program and to a Yale College student working in photography at the conclusion of their sophomore or junior year.

The Robert Schoelkopf Memorial Traveling Fellowship is awarded annually to a painting/printmaking student for travel abroad between the first and second years of study.


The following prizes are awarded annually to enrolled students who have demonstrated exceptional achievement:

Richard Benson Prize for excellence in photography, leadership within the program, and a desire to teach

Blair Dickinson Memorial Prize for the woman whose whole person demonstrates a developing consciousness, a personal vision, and a spirit of search

H. Lee Hirsche Memorial Prize for exemplary creativity and imagination

Fannie B. Pardee Prize for excellence in sculpture

Charles Sawyer Prize for distinction in graphic design

Schickle-Collingwood Prize in recognition of exceptional development and progress by a first-year student

Carol Schlosberg Memorial Prize for excellence in painting

Ethel Childe Walker Prize in recognition of exceptional artistic development by an undergraduate student majoring in art

Honorary Awards

The following honorary awards are made each year by the faculty and the dean to enrolled students, on the basis of professional promise:

Phelps Berdan Memorial Award for distinction in painting/printmaking

George R. Bunker Award in recognition of an outstanding student in painting/printmaking

Ward Cheney Memorial Award in recognition of outstanding achievement in performance and composition

Elizabeth Canfield Hicks Award for outstanding achievement in drawing or painting from nature

Rebecca Taylor Porter Award for distinction in sculpture

Robert Reed Award to provide scholarships for students within the School

Ely Harwood Schless Award for excellence in painting

John Ferguson Weir Award in recognition of an outstanding student in the School

Susan H. Whedon Award in recognition of an outstanding student in sculpture

Helen Watson Winternitz Award in recognition of an outstanding student in painting/printmaking

Award Recipients, 2022


Dean's Travel Fellowships, Dominique Duroseau, Anat Keinan, Adrian Martinez Chavez, Kyle Richardson

Alice Kimball English Traveling Fellowships, Sarah Elawad, Omar Fidel Garcia, Daniela Gomez Paz, Younes Kouider, Estelle Maisonett

Harvey Geiger Fellowship Fund, Cassidy Arrington, Miraj Patel, Sophie Schwartz

Robert Schoelkopf Memorial Traveling Fellowship, Ang Ziqi Zhang


Richard Benson Prize, Ian Kline

Blair Dickinson Memorial Prize, Ashley Teamer

H. Lee Hirsche Memorial Prize, Brett Ginsburg, Patricia Orpilla

Fannie B. Pardee Prize, Pap Souleye Fall

Charles Sawyer Prize, Mengjie Liu, Churong Mao

Schickle-Collingwood Prize, Osvald Landmark

Carol Schlosberg Memorial Prize, Brianna Bass

Ethel Childe Walker Prize, Sunnie Liu

Honorary Awards

Phelps Berdan Memorial Award, Kathryn-kay Johnson

George R. Bunker Award, Lucas Yasunaga

Ward Cheney Memorial Award, Jessica Tang

Elizabeth Canfield Hicks Award, Brennen Steines

Rebecca Taylor Porter Award, Hannah Tjaden

Robert Reed Award, Ivory Fu

Ely Harwood Schless Memorial Fund Award, Samantha Joy Groff

John Ferguson Weir Award, Amartya De

Susan H. Whedon Award, Jannick Deslauriers

Helen W. Winternitz Award, Athena Quispe


Dumphries House Residencies, Rachael Catharine Anderson, Alexandria Couch, Erick Alejandro Hernandez, Natia Lemay

MASS MoCA Residency, North Adams, Massachusetts, Justin Allen, Brian Orozco

Henry Moore Foundation Residency, Cristóbal Gracia

Fredric Roberts Photography Workshops Fellowship, Brian Orozco

SOMA Summer, Tlaxcala, Mexico, Madison Donnelly, Paloma Izquierdo

Yale Prison Education Initiative Teaching Fellowships, Grant Czuj, Alex Puz

Yale Pathways Teaching Fellowship, Maria Vargas Aguilar