Currently four standing committees are concerned with the policies and procedures of the Graduate School; as with all standing committees, their deliberations are confidential. Student members of these committees are selected by the Graduate Student Assembly.

The Executive Committee A committee of faculty members and graduate students, chaired by the dean, advises the dean on broad matters of policy, procedure, and curriculum and makes recommendations to the faculty of the Graduate School.

The Degree Committee Composed of two senior faculty members from each division (Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences) and chaired by the dean, this committee meets twice a year and is responsible to the faculty of the Graduate School for maintaining standards of graduate education in the School and for recommending candidates for degrees. The committee reviews special academic problems of individual students and, when appropriate, the educational programs of the departments.

The Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Climate and Inclusion Committee Composed of faculty, students, and staff, this committee advises the dean on matters of diversity, equity, and inclusion.

The Committee on Regulations and Discipline Composed of three graduate students, three faculty members, normally one from each division, and an associate dean, the committee reviews violations of the regulations governing academic and personal conduct.