Organization of the Curriculum

The curriculum is divided into five main academic areas, along with the YDS Internship Program, the scope and purposes of which may be described briefly as follows:

Area I—Biblical Studies Hebrew Bible/Old Testament, New Testament, and cognate studies.

Area II—Theological Studies Theology, Christian ethics, and liturgical studies.

Area III—Historical Studies Studies in the historical substance of Christian faith and tradition.

Area IV—Practical Theology Studies Studies in lived spiritual and religious practice including various forms of ministry, service, and leadership in the world.

Area V—Comparative and Cultural Studies Studies in religion, philosophy, the arts, personality, and society.

YDS Internship Program Field education, together with theological reflection, in church or clinical ministries, and in educational, nonprofit, or social justice-focused settings.