Teaching Prizes

Yale College Faculty Prizes for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching

Each year, on behalf of the Yale College Faculty, the dean of Yale College awards several prizes to members of the faculty for distinguished undergraduate teaching, typically one per division and one or more to instructional faculty. The recipients are recommended by the Yale College Committee on Teaching, Learning and Advising on the basis of teaching nominations from students. The prizes are presented at a reception during the spring term and during Class Day exercises on the day before Commencement.

William Clyde DeVane Awards

The Yale Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa awards teaching prizes to honor the memory of William Clyde DeVane, dean of Yale College from 1938 to 1963. The awards recognize distinguished undergraduate teaching and scholarship. The Yale Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa makes two DeVane Awards annually. One is to a retired member of the Yale College Faculty selected by the faculty officers of the society. The other is to an active member of the faculty selected by the undergraduate members of Phi Beta Kappa. The DeVane Awards are presented at a reception in the spring.

Poorvu Prizes

Every summer, the Yale College Dean's Office asks Faculty of Arts and Sciences department chairs in Yale College to nominate untenured instructors for the Poorvu Prize. Established by the Poorvu family to recognize and to enhance Yale’s strength in interdisciplinary teaching, the award is made to outstanding untenured faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in teaching.

Besides paying tribute to these junior faculty members, the award, in the form of a research fund, allows them to focus during the summer months on research essential to their development as scholars and teachers. On the basis of nominations from chairs and directors of interdisciplinary programs, the dean of Yale College will award one or more prizes. Preference is given to candidates who have been on the Yale faculty for at least two years as of the following July 1.